Mahler Revisited
The first festival
dedicated to the original
sound of Mahler

11.–13.9.2020 TOBLACH/SOUTH TYROL [ I ]

Artistic director: Philipp von Steinaecker
THE FIRST FESTIVAL
DEDICATED TO THE ORIGINAL
SOUND OF MAHLER
11.–13.09.2020

What was the sound world of Vienna in the early 20th century? How would Gustav Mahler’s music have been played during his lifetime? How did the composer experience the turbulent historic events of his time?

The newly founded Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach and conductor Philipp von Steinaecker perform on Viennese period instruments from 1900. Together they reawaken the musical Fin de Siècle and curate “Mahler Revisited”, the first festival in pursuit of the original sound of Mahler’s music.

Mahler’s Symphonies have become part of our central European identity. But do we really know this music? Do we know what it might have sounded like when it was first performed or even in the head of the composer?
Philipp von Steinaecker

Toblach

Toblach is a beautiful village in the Italian Dolomites, surrounded by forbidding peaks, dense forests and turquoise mountain-lakes. It was here that Mahler wrote his last monumental symphonies, between the summers of 1908 and 1910. In this historic place the musicians of Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach start their unique quest. Together with experts from different fields they shed new light on Mahler’s work and offer audiences the opportunity to experience this music afresh. The orchestra gets its name from the historic Grand Hotel, where it will be resident. The hotel was built in 1877 as one of the earliest alpine hotels and quickly attracted prominent guests including European royalty. Today the picturesque building is one of the most important cultural centres in the region.

Mahler Revisited 2020

On September 13th, 2020, for the first time since its premiere in 1912, Mahler’s Ninth Symphony will be performed on the original instruments for which Mahler wrote. In a series of diverse programmes including chamber music, Lied and recitation, the musicians explore the Zeitgeist of the turn of the century. Renowned guest speakers explain historical aspects of the time and discuss the influence they had on Mahler’s life and work. Open rehearsals from September 1st offer the audience special insights and there will be an education project for children. During the following tour the orchestra will perform at Milan’s La Scala, as well as at the Teatro Regio in Turin.

Das Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach

The musicians of the Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach comprise exceptionally talented students from all over Europe and members of the most important orchestras in Mahler’s cities – Vienna, Prague, Budapest, Hamburg, Amsterdam, Ljubljana and New York. These include the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Wiener Symphoniker, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Staatskapelle Dresden, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Münchner Philharmoniker, Slovenian Philharmonic Ljubljana, Prague Philharmonia, Gürzenich Orchester, Mahler Chamber Orchestras, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Camerata Salzburg, Artemis Quartett, Leipziger Streichquartett, Düsseldorfer Symphoniker, Deutsche Oper Berlin, West–Eastern Divan Orchestra, Accademia di Santa Cecilia, The Knights, NDR Elbphilharmonie, Spira Mirabilis, Lucerne Festival Orchestra and other prestigious ensembles. The Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach will be conducted by Philipp von Steinaecker.

Grandhôtel Chamber Sessions

During the Grandhôtel Chamber Sessions the student-members of the orchestra work on the rich chamber music repertoire of this era together with some of their older colleagues. Playing on original instruments and aided by musicologists, they search for the sounds, stylistic conventions and Zeitgeist of Vienna at the turn of the 20th century. Visitors and audiences are invited to rehearsals and coachings to experience the process of reconstructing a forgotten style.

Toblach witnessed some of the fiercest fighting during World War One and thus became one of the tectonic fault-lines of 20th century history. It is here that we are founding this pan-European multi-generational orchestra. These musicians are going far back into history to learn from it for the present and to get closer to mysteries of Gustav Mahler’s music.
Sigisbert Mutschlechner, President of the Foundation “Euregio Kulturzentrum Gustav Mahler Toblach Dolomiten“

Authentic Instruments

The Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach is a project of the cultural Foundation “Euregio Kulturzentrum Gustav Mahler Toblach Dolomiten”. The foundation is bringing together a collection of historic instruments of the Vienna Court Opera from the time of Mahler’s directorship. In order to make the latest research on performance practice in 1900 Vienna available to the performers, the foundation is collaborating closely with Dr Clive Brown, the leading scholar in the field, as well as with the University of Innsbruck and Mahler expert Prof. Federico Celestini.

Our concepts of beautiful and communicative performance are always evolving. Sometimes, along the way, we lose sight of sounds that are subtiler and more apt for a realisation of the composer’s vision than those which have replaced them; sometimes, too, we lose contact with expressive practices that were only to be read between the lines, even in such detailed scores as Mahler’s. Rediscovering these sounds and practices, and using them creatively, can reinvest the  music with a freshness and impact that has been lost through technological developments and anachronistic responses to Mahler’s notation.
Clive Brown

Artistic director

Philipp von Steinaecker is conductor and curator of the Grandhôtel Orchetsra Toblach as well as of the festival Mahler Revisited. As Principal Guest Conductor of the Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra, as a former assistant to Claudio Abbado and cellist in the Lucerne Festival Orchestra, Philipp has performed and lived with the music of Mahler throughout his life. With his long experience with period instrument ensembles and as assistant to John Eliot Gardiner, he is also an avid proponent of performance practice.
Philipp von Steinaecker was a founding member of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra and artistic director of the Mahler Academy in Bolzano. He has conducted orchestras like Swedish Radio Orchestra, Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Gürzenich Orchester Cologne, Residentiee Orkest Den Haag, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Haydn Orchestra Bolzano, Camerata Salzburg, Scottish Chamber Orchestra and Tokyo Metropolitan Orchestra, to name only a few.

Prominent support

The Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach is building a network of prominent supporters and advocates. One of them is the conductor Daniel Harding, who welcomes the idea of the project:

I have been wondering for years what the Vienna Philharmonic of 1900 might have sounded like. It’s important and long overdue to bring the academic rigour of performance practice and the beauty and character of the original instruments to the music of Mahler! This is an extremely exciting project and a group of wonderful musicians. Toblach is a very lucky place!
Daniel Harding

Program

Friday, 11.9.2020
18:30
Train Station Toblach
Arrival: Summer in Toblach
G. Mahler: Ich atmet einen linden Duft
L. Janáček: Woodwind Sextet Mládi
Intermezzo with Hans Heiss, historian
A. Dvořák: String Quintet op. 77
G. Mahler:Das himmlische Leben
Music by F. Lehár and E. Kálmán for Salon Orchestra
Camilla Tilling – Soprano
Kiveli Doerken – Piano 
Musicians from the Grandhôtel Chamber Sessions (on period instruments)
Saturday, 12.9.2020
15:00
Gustav-Mahler-Saal
Gustav at the concert
Concert for children (and parents) 
Anna Maria Malm – Moderator
Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach (on period instruments)
Philipp von Steinaecker – Conductor 
16:30
Spiegelsaal
Stranger in my own World 
G. Mahler: Das Urlicht
A. Webern: Five Movements for String Quartet op.5
Intermezzo with Philipp Blom, author and historian
A. Berg: Lieder op. 2
L. Janáček: 2nd String Quartet Intimate Letters
Camilla Tilling – Soprano
Kiveli Doerken – Piano 
Musicians from the Grandhôtel Chamber Sessions (on period instruments)
20:00
Spiegelsaal
Between two Worlds – Arnold Rosé and his Quartet
G. Mahler: Um Mitternacht
J. Brahms: Clarinet Quintet op. 115 
Internezzo with Clive Brown, musicologist
A. Schoenberg: String Sextet op. 4 Verklärte Nacht
Camilla Tilling – Soprano
Kiveli Doerken – Piano 
Musicians from the Grandhôtel Chamber Sessions (on period instruments)
Sunday 13.09.2020
10:00
Village Square
Mahler-Band“
Traditional music for marching band from 1900 and by Gustav Mahler

Musikkapelle Toblach
Sigisbert Mutschlechner – Conductor
16:30
Upper and lower Foyer
Living museum
Insights into the instrument collection of the Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach
Intermezzo with Beatrix Darmstädter, musicologist
17:30
Spiegelsaal
Introduction to Mahler IX
18:00
Gustav-Mahler-Saal
Genius Loci
G. Mahler: Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen from Rückert-Lieder
A. Schoenberg: Farben from Five Orchestra Pieces op.16
G. Mahler: Symphony N.9 in d-minor
Camilla Tilling – Soprano
Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach (on period instruments)
Philipp von Steinaecker – Conductor 

Tickets

Contact us for more information on ticket reservations and online purchase.

Mahler Revisited
Das erste Mahler-
Originalklangfestival

11.–13.9.2020 TOBLACH/SÜDTIROL [ I ]

Künstlerischer Leiter: Philipp von Steinaecker
DAS ERSTE MAHLER-
ORGINALKLANGFESTIVAL
11.–13.09.2020

Was war die Klangwelt im Wien des frühen 20. Jahrhundert? Wie wurde Gustav Mahlers Musik zu seinen Lebzeiten gespielt und wie erlebte der Komponist die turbulenten geschichtlichen Ereignisse seiner Epoche?

Auf Wiener Originalinstrumenten aus der Zeit um 1900 erweckt das neu gegründete Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach unter der Leitung von Philipp von Steinaecker die Musik der Jahrhundertwende zu neuem Leben – und lädt im September 2020 zum weltweit ersten Festival, das dem Originalklang von Mahlers Musik nachspürt.

Mahlers Symphonien sind heute Teil unserer europäischen Identität. Aber kennen wir diese Musik wirklich? Können wir wissen, wie sie zur Zeit ihrer Entstehung oder gar im Kopf des Komponisten geklungen haben mag?
Philipp von Steinaecker

Ma(h)lerisches Toblach

Im wunderschönen Toblach, umgeben von hohen Gipfeln, dichten Wäldern und türkisgrünen Bergseen, schrieb Gustav Mahler während der Sommermonate der Jahre 1908 bis 1910 seine letzten monumentalen Symphonien. Genau an diesem geschichtsträchtigen Ort mitten in den Südtiroler Dolomiten begibt sich das Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach auf eine einzigartige Spurensuche: Gemeinsam mit Experten aus unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen wird es das Schaffen Gustav Mahlers an einer seiner eindrücklichsten Wirkstätten beleuchten und erfahrbar machen. Heimat des Klangkörpers ist das namensstiftende Grand Hotel Toblach, das 1877 als Feriendomizil erbaut wurde und schon bald nach seiner Eröffnung viele prominente Gäste aus europäischen Herrscherhäusern anzog. Heute ist der pittoreske Bau eines der wichtigsten Kulturzentren der Region.

Mahler Revisited 2020

Am 13. September 2020 wird die Neunte Symphonie von Gustav Mahler im Rahmen des Festivals weltweit erstmalig seit ihrer Uraufführung 1912 auf Originalinstrumenten erklingen. In einem vielfältigen Begleitprogramm erläutern darüber hinaus renommierte Gastredner, welche gesellschaftlichen und historischen Hintergründe eine Rolle in Mahlers Leben und Wirken spielten. Offene Konzertproben ab dem 1. September ermöglichen den Gästen besonders tiefe musikalische Einblicke. Ergänzt wird das Angebot durch Lieder und Kammermusik von Mahler und seinen Zeitgenossen sowie ein speziell für Kinder entworfenes Musikprojekt. Eine anschließende Tournee führt das Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach im ersten Jahr an die Mailänder Scala und ans Teatro Regio in Turin.

Das Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach

Im Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach musizieren Mitglieder der bedeutendsten Orchester aus den Mahler-Städten Wien, Prag, Budapest, Hamburg, Amsterdam, Ljubljana und New York, darunter auch zahlreiche Musikern aus Süd- und Nord-Tirol sowie aus dem Trentino, gemeinsam mit herausragend begabten Musikstudierenden aus ganz Europa. Zum Orchester selbst gehören Mitglieder des Concertgebouw Orchesters, Wiener Symphoniker, des Budapest Festival Orchestra, Staatskapelle Dresden, dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, der Münchner Philharmoniker, Slovenische Philharmonie, Prague Philharmonia, Gürzenich Orchester, des Mahler Chamber Orchestra, des Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Camerata Salzburg, Artemis Quartett, Leipziger Streichquartett, Düsseldorfer Symphoniker, Deutsche Oper Berlin, West-Eastern-Divan Orchestra, Accademia di Santa Cecilia, The Knights, NDR Elbphilharmonie, Spira Mirabilis, Lucerne Festival Orchestra und weiterer namhafter Klangkörper. Geleitet wird das Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach von Philipp von Steinaecker.

Grandhôtel Chamber Sessions

Während der vorgelagerten Grandhôtel Chamber Sessions erarbeiten die Studierenden des Orchesters gemeinsam mit ihren erfahrenen Kollegen die überaus vielfältige Kammermusik dieser Epoche und laden Besucher ein, in den offenen Proben an diesem Prozess teilzuhaben. Beraten von Musikwissenschaftlern forschen die Musiker auf den Originalinstrumenten nach den Klängen und Konventionen am Übergang zwischen Gründerzeit und Jugendstil und nach dem Zeitgeist im Wien der späten Donaumonarchie.

In Toblach – einem der zentralen Schauplätze des Ersten Weltkrieges, an einem der Verwerfungsgräben der europäischen Geschichte – entsteht so ein generationenübergreifendes, gesamteuropäisches Orchester, dessen Musiker gemeinsam den Intentionen Gustav Mahlers auf den Grund gehen. Dafür blicken sie weit in die Musikgeschichte zurück, um daraus Wissen und Inspiration für die Gegenwart zu schöpfen.
Sigisbert Mutschlechner, Präsident der Stiftung

Authentische Instrumente

Das Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach wird von der Stiftung „Euregio Kulturzentrum Gustav Mahler Toblach Dolomiten” getragen. Die Stiftung baut eigens für dieses Projekt eine einzigartige Instrumentensammlung auf und vereint so das historische Instrumentarium des Wiener Hofopernorchesters zur Direktionszeit Mahlers wieder an einem Ort. Damit die neuesten Erkenntnisse zur historischen Aufführungspraxis in Wien zwischen 1890 und 1910 in die Arbeit der Musiker einfließen können, arbeitet die Stiftung eng mit dem führenden Spezialisten Prof. Dr. Clive Brown sowie mit dem Institut für Musikwissenschaft der Universität Innsbruck unter der Leitung des Mahler-Experten Prof. Dr. Federico Celestini zusammen.

Unsere Vorstellung eines schönen und sprechenden musikalischen Vortrags ist in ständigem Wandel begriffen. Im Laufe der Zeit gehen uns manchmal Klänge verloren, die subtiler als unsere heutigen sind und geeigneter wären, die Vision des Komponisten zu verwirklichen. Genauso kann es vorkommen, dass uns das Wissen um Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten verloren geht, die selbst in den detaillierten Partituren Mahlers nur zwischen den Zeilen impliziert sind. Diese Klänge und Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten wiederzuentdecken und sie kreativ zu nutzen, kann der Musik jene Frische und Wirkung zurückgeben, die durch technologische Entwicklungen und durch die zeitfremde Lesart von Mahlers Notation verloren gegangen sind.
Clive Brown

Künstlerische Leitung

Leiter und Kurator des Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach und des Originalklangfestivals Mahler Revisited ist Philipp von Steinaecker, der sich als Erster Gastdirigent der Slowenischen Philharmonie, als Assistent von Claudio Abbado und auch als Cellist im Lucerne Festival Orchestra seit Jahren mit der Musik Mahlers auseinandersetzt. Durch seine langjährigen Erfahrungen mit Originalklang-Ensembles und als Assistent von Sir John Eliot Gardiner ist ihm die Beschäftigung mit historischer Aufführungspraxis seit vielen Jahren ein besonderes Anliegen.
Philipp von Steinaecker ist Gründungsmitglied des Mahler Chamber Orchestra und war Künstlerischer Leiter der Mahler Academy Bozen. Darüber hinaus hat er Orchester wie das Schwedische Rundfunkorchester Stockholm, den Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, das Gürzenich Orchester Köln, das Residentiee Orkest Den Haag, das Mahler Chamber Orchestra, das Haydn Orchester von Bozen und Trient, die Camerata Salzburg, das Scottish Chamber Orchestra und das Tokyo Metropolitan Orchestra dirigiert.

Namhafte UnterstützerInnen

Das Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach und das Mahler-Originalklangfestival bauen auf ein Netzwerk an prominenten Unterstützern und Befürwortern. So gehört dem Beirat beispielsweise auch Dirigent Daniel Harding an, der die Idee des Projekts sehr begrüßt:

Ich frage mich seit Jahren, wie die Wiener Philharmoniker um 1900 wohl geklungen haben mögen, und ich denke, es ist wichtig und längst überfällig, dass die Sorgfalt der historischen Aufführungspraxis sowie die Schönheit und der Charakter der Originalinstrumente in Mahlers Musik zum Einsatz kommen. Hier kommt eine Traumbesetzung zusammen und Toblach kann sich sehr, sehr glücklich schätzen!
Daniel Harding

Programm

Freitag, 11.9.2020
18:30
Bahnhofshalle Toblach
Sommerfrische in Toblach
G. Mahler: Ich atmet einen linden Duft
L. Janáček: Bläsersextett Mládi
Intermezzo mit Hans Heiss, Historiker
A. Dvořák: Streichquintett op. 77
G. Mahler: Das himmlische Leben
Musik von F. Lehár und E. Kálmán für Salonorchester
Camilla Tilling – Sopran 
Kiveli Doerken – Klavier
Musiker der Grandhôtel Chamber Sessions 
(auf Originalinstrumenten)
Samstag, 12.9.2020
15:00
Gustav-Mahler-Saal
Gustav geht ins Konzert
Konzert für Kinder (und Eltern)
Anna Maria Malm – Moderation 
Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach  (auf Originalinstrumenten)
Philipp von Steinaecker – Dirigent 
16:30
Spiegelsaal
Fremd in meiner Welt
G. Mahler: Das Urlicht
A. Webern: Fünf Sätze für Streichquartett op. 5
Intermezzo mit Philipp Blom, Schriftsteller und Historiker
A. Berg: Lieder op. 2
L. Janáček: 2. Streichquartett Intime Briefe
Camilla Tilling – Sopran 
Kiveli Doerken – Klavier
Musiker der Grandhôtel Chamber Sessions (auf Originalinstrumenten)
20:00
Spiegelsaal
Zwischen Welten – Arnold Rosé und sein Quartett
G. Mahler: Um Mitternacht
J. Brahms: Klarinettenquintett op. 115
Intermezzo mit Clive Brown, Musikwissenschaftler
A. Schönberg: Streichsextett op. 4 Verklärte Nacht
Camilla Tilling – Sopran 
Kiveli Doerken – Klavier
Musiker der Grandhôtel Chamber Sessions (auf Originalinstrumenten)
Sonntag 13.09.2020
10:00
Dorfplatz Toblach
„Mahler-Kapelle“
Traditionelle Blasmusik aus der Zeit um 1900 und Musik von Gustav Mahler
Musikkapelle Toblach 
Sigisbert Mutschlechner – Dirigent
16:30
Foyer
Viel ist hingesunken uns zur Trauer – Ein Lebendes Museum
Einblicke in die Instrumentensammlung des Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach
Intermezzo mit Beatrix Darmstädter, Musikwissenschaftlerin
17:30
Spiegelsaal
Einführungsgespräch
18:00
Gustav-Mahler-Saal
Genius Loci
G. Mahler: Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen aus Rückert-Lieder
A. Schönberg: Farben aus Fünf Orchesterstücke op. 16
G. Mahler: IX. Symphonie in d-moll
Camilla Tilling – Sopran
Grandhôtel Orchestra Toblach (auf Originalinstrumenten)
Philipp von Steinaecker – Dirigent

Tickets

Kontaktieren Sie uns für weitere Informationen bzgl. Ticketreservierungen und -kauf.